Angry Medical Treatment Below Standard of Care in Georgia

First let me say that I come from a family of doctors so my medical knowledge is pretty good although I am still a layman.

My 8 year old daughter was bitten on her elbow by an Akita that belonged to a neighbor around 7 pm on a Thursday. My husband took her to the ER. When I arrived at hospital (1 hr later) the severe bruising on her arm indicated a break. She was unable to flex her arm nor did she have movement in her middle, ring and little fingers. I approached the ER doc and asked him to do an x-ray because it looked like a break to me. I also requested an MRI to see what nerve, tendon or ligament damage may have been done by the bite. He stated it was superficial and it didn't need an x-ray. We went back and forth over the issue that I did not believe this was a superficial wound. I asked him 3 times in front of to do x-rays each time he refused.

He prescribed an antibiotic and pain killer and sent us home. I was told the the swelling and pain would subside in a few days and she would be able to move her fingers afterward. The swelling, according to him, was the reason for her inability to bend at the elbow and move her fingers. I was also told not to remove the bandages for 24 hrs.

The next day, I called her pediatrician because she still could not move her fingers and she was not lucid. I told her doctor that I thought the arm was broken and the ER doc didn't really seem to be interested in making sure everything was okay neurologically either. We were given an appointment for later that day at 4 pm. I decided to let her doctor change the bandage after examining her. As soon as she unwrapped the bandage, I was told to immediately take her to Children's Hospital or Scottish Rite and that she would call ahead because she was dangerously ill. Not only did she believe the arm was broken but she also realized that she was suffering from a severe infection and was possibly septic and could lose her arm.