My question involves emancipation laws for the State of: Nevada & California
I'm a 17 year old living in Nevada. I'm originally from California and my parents moved me here. I want to move back to California after I graduate high school and attend college there (a community college). I graduate in June but I don't turn 18 until September. My parents don't want to let me move out so if I can't legally move out in June, I'd have to wait until September, when I turn 18.
I just can't live in my house anymore and I've been waiting 2 years to graduate so I can finally move out but now the problem of my age has come up because I will not turn 18 when I graduate, which was when I was planning to leave my house.
So my questions are:
Can I leave when I graduate or would I have to wait until I turn 18 in September?
And if I leave in June, when I graduate, before I turn 18, could they call the police on me?
But if they do call the police, wouldn't me leaving count as beneficial to my education since I'm attending college in California, and I would need to arrive there early to prepare for the upcoming semester? (Fall semester starts in August, if I have to wait until September so I'd be 18, I'd miss registration for Fall semester)
Also, if I am able to leave in June, can I just leave without leaving any way for them to contact me? Or would they still count as my legal guardian since I am still 17 and not 18 yet?
I COULD wait until I turn 18 if I needed to, but I rather leave as soon as I can.