Default No Proof Insurance Ticket but Provided Proof

My question involves a traffic citation from the state of: Michigan
    Hello,

just a quick overview, on 1/7/10 I was pulled over because my tags were expired on my vehicle. They were supposed to be renewed on 12/30/10 and I thought my husband had done it. When I realized it wasn't done which was the night of 1/6/10 the next day I planned on getting them renewed. But, I got pulled over on my way. Also I was having difficulty locating my proof of insurance. I do have insurance and always have had it. I was an insurance agent for 6 years before going back to school, my mother owns the insurance agency. I was just unorganized. The officer said you keep looking I will be right back. When he came back I provided him with the proof of insurance. He said ok thats great you won't have to worry about this one. Well I get the ticket and it says I am charged with no proof of insurance. So I go get my plates renewed immediately the same day, gather all the requested information and head to the court house to take care of this. I get there and give the ticket to the lady and she says oh, this ticket doesn't make sense and that boxes were checked all over and she couldn't help me. I would have to wait until the officer brought in his copy because this one didn't make sense. So there I was with all the documents and money to pay any fines being turned away. Keep in mind I like 45 minutes away from this court house. So I call about 5 days later and the phone system they have keeps telling me the lines are busy. I tried for an hour to get in contact with someone. I tried many other times as well. The officer also told me I wouldn't be in trouble for the insurance! I showed him the proof on the scene! So I wasn't really sure what was going on I didn't know if because they didn't have the ticket at the office maybe he didn't file it or whatever. Well I got busy and then received something in the mail stating that a default judgmen