Default Does USC Title 26 Affect the Social Security Administration

I know that SSA has title 42 of the United States Code, but do they have to abide by the rules set forth in title 26 also? Specifically how "Gross Income" is defined? The two titles seem to have a different set of rules for defining income, but it seems like the rules for SSA in title 42 are just not as detailed (possbily cause they don't need to be?)

Sorry if this is a stupid question. I'm new to this.

Default Re: How Much Does Usc Title 26 Affect the Social Security Administration

No clue to the question posed. Probably need a government attorney to answer that question. Why don't you ask the question you are really trying to find the answer to with the details?

Default Re: How Much Does Usc Title 26 Affect the Social Security Administration

Okay.

Some background: My 3 yr old is disabled, and receiving SSI payments with my wife as the rep. payee. In July of 2009, we began doing adult foster care, paid by the state of Oregon. I had heard from a fellow foster care provider that when reporting my income to SSA, we didn't have to report the foster care payments. I wanted to do everything legit, so I turned in the first pay stub, and clearly marked "Foster Care Income" on it, but the next letter we got said that they are counting it as self-employment income. Now, apparently the way they handle self-employment income is they estimate an annual lump sum from the income, divide it by 12, and apply the same amount to each month throughout the year. The effect this had on us, is that it was applied retroactively to every month for the year 2009. Then we get a letter stating that we had income they didn't know about for the first 6 months of the year, and they overpaid us by over $3k, and they want it back blah blah blah. Any they're going to lower my son's SSI payments. I'm currently gathering the info needed to fill out the 1400 page appeal form.