My question involves criminal law for the state of: New York
I was caught shoplifting in New York. I shoplifted about $50 worth the stuff. Instead of calling the cops the store showed me some law written up on something and said they have the right to charge me 5x the stuff that I stole in order to drop the matter. So I agreed to pay them $250 not to call the cops and have 10 days to pay it.
What happens if I don't pay it. Will they get the cops after me? I am asking this to anyone who might have experience in not paying it. Not just asking as a "general question". I read online a lawyer who represents people who shoplift. He had right on his site that he recommends people not pay the amount of money ask for because the store is not going to file a civil suit against you for that amount of money as it would cost them more for a lawyer to show up.
I am not so sure I agree with his advise but if I didn't pay it I am wondering if they will get the cops after me if I don't pay it. I am only asking this of people who might have experience.