Default Legal Definition of Habitual Lateness

My question involves an eviction in the state of: PA

I am a business owner and two year residential tenant in a duplex. Today is January 16th of 2010. In November and December of 2009 I was 14 days late on my rent. I have not been late prior to that. The current landlord is a new owner that took over the property in June of 2009.

The reason for my lateness is not relevant here but I did make my landlord aware of an incident that has had a dramatic impact on my financial situation. This was done in both writing and face-to face. I am basically caught in a limbo of looking for a job in a tough economy. Its going slow. For both Nov and December I made my payments with the requisite late fee. I have had some issues with child support and have been playing a juggling act. Hard times are not unheard of an I am not complaining. Its just taking some time to sort out. I have a good credit history and I am responsible.

Today I received an eviction notice for "habitual lateness". I'm embarassed, mortified and of course worried.

• What is habitual lateness?
    • Can I fight this eviction?
    • Will filing bankruptcy stop the proceedings?
    • My lease has a clause of 45 days notice to eviction. Can this be accelerated by the landlord if I do not make any more payments?

Default Re: Legal Definition of Habitual Lateness

Bankruptcy will only stop an eviction until the landlord petitions to have the automatic stay lifted (which he probably will, and it will generally be granted).

It's not unreasonable to call lateness in two out of the past four months "habitual".

As per my last question.. can a vacate order be accelerated by the landlord? (ie can she throw me out or have a hearing prior to the eviction letter stating an eviction date of march 2nd?)

Quote Quoting NotTooHappy
    View Post