Results 1 to 3 of 3

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default First Time Marijuana Possession Charge in Michigan

    My question involves criminal law for the state of: Michigan.

    Hello everyone. A few weeks ago, a couple friends and I were pulled over for a broken tail light. The officer suspected that we were all smoking and had asked us if we had anything in the car. We cooperated and gave him a small bag that contained no more than 1.5 grams of marijuana. He had asked us whose bag it was and we answered that it was all of ours, since it was a combined purchase. We were all given misdemeanors for possession of marijuana.

    I've searched this forum thoroughly and I'm aware that in Michigan, a misdemeanor for possession of marijuana is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. I'm 23 years old my record is clean; I've never even been pulled over. I have a few questions and concerns.

    What is the average cost for the fine for a first time offense like this?
    Is taking the Section 333.7411 probation my best option, if I decide to represent myself?

    I know it's difficult to make predictions on how much this will cost me, I'm just curious since the officer didn't know the answer when asked.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Behind a Desk
    Posts
    98,846

    Default Re: First Time Marijuana Possession Charge in Michigan

    I would expect fines and court assessments to be somewhere between $800 and $1,500. It could be more, probably not less.

    A 7411 disposition is a good deal.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: First Time Marijuana Possession Charge in Michigan

    Quote Quoting Mr. Knowitall
    View Post
    I would expect fines and court assessments to be somewhere between $800 and $1,500. It could be more, probably not less.

    A 7411 disposition is a good deal.
    Good news, it came out to way less than we both expected. $300!

    1. Sponsored Links
       

Similar Threads

  1. Drug Possession: Michigan First Time Marijuana Possession
    By psychedelicbob in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-2009, 05:49 PM
  2. Drug Possession: First Time Marijuana Possession Charge
    By 1st time offender in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 11:01 PM
  3. Drug Possession: First Time Possession Of Marijuana In Michigan
    By Tony13 in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-07-2008, 10:03 PM
  4. Drug Possession: First Time Possession of Marijuana, No Prior Record, in Michigan
    By concerned brother in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-26-2007, 05:26 PM
  5. Drug Possession: First Time Possession Of Marijuana in Michigan
    By thisisnotgood in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-16-2007, 06:59 PM
 
 
Sponsored Links

Legal Help, Information and Resources