BearCalvalry Guest

Post Paralegal Class Assignment - Create a Law Firm

Hello ladies and gentlemen. I am a paralegal student in college, and I have a very strange assignment. We have to come up with our own law firm. And there are a lot of things we have to include, but this is my first quarter, and I don't know how I am supposed to answer all of these questions. My teacher will not answer emails.

Okay. I am supposed to write out A retainer agreement... with contingency, billable, statutory fees. Can someone provide me with a link to an example of this?

Also... I have to chose 3 areas of law my firm would practice. So I chose Real Estate, healthcare, and intellectual property. But why I would chose one of the other, I don't understand. Why would someone chose to go into for example Real Estate law? Because of their own problems?

And one more... if my fake company has 6 senior partners, and 12 junior partners, how would the percentage allocated look like? I don't really know how it is divided up.

Thank you all so much

Default Re: Paralegal Class Assignment - Create a Law Firm

Lawyers choose areas of law for much the same reasons doctors choose areas of medicine... it is either of interest to them or very profitable.

I will say that very few law firms would specialize in such different areas of law.

BearCalvalry Guest

Quote Quoting cyjeff
    View Post
    Lawyers choose areas of law for much the same reasons doctors choose areas of medicine... it is either of interest to them or very profitable.

I will say that very few law firms would specialize in such different areas of law.
    aha, so than what areas of law would go with Real Estate?

Typically? Estate planning, perhaps tax. Perhaps family law.

Use Google and you'll find any number of law firm websites describing their practice areas.

BearCalvalry Guest

Quote Quoting Mr. Knowitall
    View Post
    Typically? Estate planning, perhaps tax. Perhaps family law.