Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Someone is Slandering My Professional Reputation

I just want advice. If any of you were in this situation, what would you do?

I work as a professional dog trainer and have for 4 years. I also volunteer at an animal shelter. My passion is helping animals, obviously.

Some of my friends had a dog who they could no longer keep, so I contacted a long term customer whom I thought would love this dog as a new addition to her family, and she accepted.

Turns out this dog had severe medical problems; tumors, an untreated back injury, and was brain dead due to over use of a shock collar and aggressive. She gave the dog up to a shelter because she was unable to afford the medical expenses.

I found out today she went to my work and where I volunteer telling everyone that I should never go near another dog again in my life, I should not be hired, and that I should never own another dog again in my life.

Although I had nothing to do with raising this dog, I found out this person may have had earlier personal issues with me. Apparantly she disagrees with some of the training techniques that I have used on my own dog. Mind you, my dog is a happy, friendly, obedient, fun loving dog who I would never hurt in my life. He had surgery on one hip and both elbows and shoulders when he was younger to save his life from a grim end as well. I think she may be taking her frustration out on me just because she doesn't personally like me. But, I have nothing to do with the dog she adopted other than that I helped arrange the adoption.

Default Re: Someone is Slandering My Professional Reputation

So...this customer adopted the dog without having him checked out by a vet first, and now is essentially saying it's all your fault?

What sort of advice are you looking for, exactly?

I want to know if this is worthy of legal action because she is going out to professional work places and slandering my reputation.