Default Wrong Amount of Medical Bills Owed Reported

Hello..

Im a CA resident. I found out less than a year ago, while going through a divorce, that I owe medical bills that were dated back to 2000-2001. The collection agency claimed it's $180,000, but after calling the Medical Center itself, they told me it's only $25,000 in total, and they sent me copied of all the bills to total $25,000 which are owed.

What can I do now to get this adjusted on my credit report and take off the $180,000 claimed amount?

The collection agency provided my divorce lawyer with a signed statement saying it's $180,000, but didn't provide enough supporting documents to prove it.

How can I get this adjusted and taken care of??? Can I sue the collection agency?

Thank you for your help.

Default Re: Wrong Amount of Medical Bills Owed Reported

If the bills date back to 2001 and no payment has been made since, they are most likely expired and uncollectable under the statute of limitations.

If a collection agency lists incorrect information, dispute the information with the credit bureau.

What date does your credit report list for last activity? What date do they project for this to drop off of your report? A debt with a last activity date in 2001 would normally have dropped off your credit report by now; I'm wondering what they're using as the date of last activity to keep it listed.

I have tried to dispute it with the all credit report agencies, but they keep telling me the amount is accurate according to the most recent collection agency handling the debt.

I guess it stayed active because it kept being sold from collection agency to another. I tried discussing this issue with the person in charge of the account, and he keeps insisting that it's accurace, even though he cannot supply the documents to prove it. I also told him that I spoke to the hospital and they told me it's only $25K, and he refused to accept it from me.