My question involves business law in the state of: Oregon

My question involves business law in the state of: Oregon

I held an event this last Friday 1-2-09 at an event venue which I signed no contract at all. The total venue cost was $2,500 I was required to pay a $1,250 deposit which I wrote a check for on 12-31-08, only two days prior to the event. I was required to pay the rest after the event at which they took $1,250 to cover the entire venue cost. The event was 5 hours long from 9pm-2am, and was cut short at 12am, for reasons the venue manager could not explain. I was not checking the amount of people coming in, nor were they.

The venue manager stated that $2,500 was accumulated in $10 cover charges, where as through photos of the event there had to be an estimated 400-500 people at the event. The venue manager will not give me the owners contact information

I put a stop-payment on the check, my question is because there was no contract, what can the venue manager possibly do?