Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Shoplifting Statute of Limitations on Misdemeanor

My question involves criminal law for the state of: New-Mexico

HI. I am in desparate need of advice. I got caught shoplifting recently at a department store. I had two shirts worth 156.30. I cooperated once stopped at the door. They took me back and called Police. The officer wrote me a citation and told me to call a phone number listed on it in 5 days. It was a stupid thing to do. I recently got divorced and just was'nt thinking right. Anyway, I am a nurse and afraid that any conviction, I could loose my RN license. If I don't do anything and lay low, is there any statue of limitations that would eventually run out on this? The cop said it was a misdemeanor. PLEASE HELP

Default Re: Shopifting Statue of Limitations on Misdemeanor

If you've already been issued a citation, then you've already been charged with the crime. Off the top of my head, shoplifting of less than $250 is a misdemeanor offense. You'll have to go to court and deal with the consequences. The good news is that it shouldn't negitively affect your status as an RN. Your supervisor may retrict you from narcotics handling, or money handling, but you shouldn't lose your lisence. Good luck

If I don't do anything and lay low, is there any statue of limitations that would eventually run out on this?
    As already noted, if you've been issued a citation, you've already been charged with a crime. If you fail to appear in court, you'll end up with a warrant out for your arrest, and those don't expire.

Put your brass ovaries in, call the number, and face the music. You can either hire private counsel now or show up for court, plead Not Guilty and ask for a Public Defender. Either way, an attorney can help you sort out your options and get you probation and a fine.

In some instances, you may also qualify for a first offender's diversion program, which, if completed successfully, keeps your record clean.