Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default Used Car Breaks After 14 Days

    My question involves a consumer law issue in the State of: Ohio

    Bought a used car (2006, 40k miles) and after 2 weeks the airbags stopped working. Turns out the heated seats caused some kind of circuit malfunction and the repair is going to be $1500. Is the dealer who sold me this car responsible at all? The only warranty was a 3 month drivetrain warranty, so I know electrical problems aren't covered in that. But somebody has got to be responsible for this car breaking after 2 weeks. The problem was most likely pre-existing and just waiting for the seat heaters to be turned on. I have heard from friends, but been unable to confirm, that dealers are responsible for any failures up to 30 days after purchase of a used car. Any truth to that?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Behind a Desk
    Posts
    98,846

    Default Re: Used Car Breaks After 14 Days

    This is a 2006 used car? But there is no manufacturer's warranty in effect? (I guess it was a 3 year, 36,000 mile basic warranty?)

    Have there been any prior repairs to the electrical system or airbags? Have there been any modifications to the car that might have caused this problem to arise?

    Have you checked to see if this is the subject of a recall, or if the manufacturer will cover the repair?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: Used Car Breaks After 14 Days

    Some states do allow certain grounds for returning a used vehicle for refund within a specified period (not sure if Ohio does though). Also, while most lemon laws apply strictly to new vehicle sales, the Federal Magnuson Moss Warranty Act might afford some grounds for relief. I would also take a close look at Ohio's "Motor Vehicle Sales Rule" (Ohio Administrative Code
    109:4‑3‑16) to see if any of the protections afforded there are applicable.

    1. Sponsored Links
       

Similar Threads

  1. Rental Agreements: Tenant Only Gave 30 Days - Lease Stated Must Give 60 Days Notice to Vacate
    By newlandlord1 in forum Landlord-Tenant Law
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-22-2011, 01:08 PM
  2. Compensation and Overtime: Lunch Breaks vs. 10 Minute Breaks
    By denicedcat in forum Employment and Labor
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 06:08 AM
  3. Giving Notice: Extension of 10 Days After the 30 Days Moving Out Notice
    By hlee in forum Landlord-Tenant Law
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 08:42 PM
  4. Compensation and Overtime: Lunches and Breaks
    By shirleyd in forum Employment and Labor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 11:27 AM
  5. Who Gets The Car After A Relationship Breaks Up?
    By inez in forum Marriage, Cohabitation and Civil Unions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2006, 08:07 AM
 
 
Sponsored Links

Legal Help, Information and Resources