Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Being Touched vs. Being Seized by the Police

Well, being poked in the shoulder, despite from whom, is an assault consummated by battery.

Just because he's a police officer doesn't mean he can walk around jabbing his finger into people.

Moreover, many jurisdictions requires that police officers identify themselves when asked. Identification isn't usually "well, I'm a cop." You'll want to check your local/state laws on it, but it's generally something like they have to present you with a commission card showing they're a police officer if you specifically request it.

On that card will be the officer's name and status.

In some places, you may or may not have the right to deny them access to a guest log depending on what sort of business you are. However, the police generally can't come in and demand if the business isn't open without having a warrant that would allow them to come in and inspect files without the company's consent.

Default Re: Police

Quote Quoting coolguycooz
    View Post
    according to the courts you are seized if there is ANY sort of physical contact by a police officer even if it feels like a friendly poke or hand placement on the shoulder , also the presence of multiple officers indicates a seizure as well. due to the fact that an average and reasonable person would feel that they were not free to go based on the physical contact or multiple officers aspect.

So your 4th amendment was violated for sure!!!

However you have no legal standing of the log book so you cant even challange the officers with that aspect.
    where do you get the OP was "seized"?. He was at work doing his job. OP never stated he attempted, or even disired to leave. As a matter of fact, he was free enough to be able to call his supervisor.