Default Can Landlord Change Gate Code and Refuse to Give New Code to Tenants?

My question involves landlord-tenant law in the State of: California
    Hello, our apartment is gated with a key or code needed for entrance. Our landlord has changed the access code to the front gate and will not give the new code to the tenants. This creates a problem with delivery from FedEx , UPS as they can not get into the building....the call box has also been disconnected.So no one from the outside can call to be let in .Some of the children have had to climb the fence to get into the complex after school. They gave us no warning they where changing the code (no time to make additional keys for children)...Some of the children can not use a key.
    My question is ...is it legal for the landlord to do this?

Default Re: Can Landlord Change Gate Code and Refuse to Give New Code to Tenants?

What does the lease say about the gate code?
    I'm not a lawyer, but I play a researcher on the internet!
    Caution: I bite. WARNING: Do not send questions or complaints by PM. I'm likely to post them publicly and embarrass you half to death.
    I'm training for the MS Society's Bike to the Bay - and blogging about it!

Default Re: Can Landlord Change Gate Code and Refuse to Give New Code to Tenants?

There is no mention of the gate code in the lease.

So basically, tenants can get in with their key cards, and they can buzz guests in when guests dial their apartments, but the landlord doesn't want tenants to be able to distribute a key code that will let anybody enter the parking lot? That sounds like a matter of security.

What sort of gate are we talking about here? A single bar that pivots up and down across a driveway, to prevent unauthorized vehicles from entering?