Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Driving A Car On Friend's Auto Insurance

My question involves insurance law for the state of: MICHIGAN

I am an unlicensed driver in the state of MI. My friend leased a new car in her name and did the same with insurance so I have a vehicle to drive. I pay half of her monthly insurance premium on her car, pay all on the car I drive and the lease payment for her to do this for me. Since the car is insured she is not liable if anything happens right? If I am not at fault if there happens to be an accident, what happens besides me going to jail for no license? I just need some clarity to make sure I'm not pulling a fast one on my friend.

Default Re: Driving A Car On Friend's Auto Insurance

Michigan has an owner liability law, meaning that the owner of a vehicle is liable for the negligent driving acts of somebody driving their car with their permission. So yes, she can be held liable if you cause an accident. Further, if the insurance company figures out the nature of the fraud you are committing, they'll deny any coverage.

Only if I cause the accident? Also, I would have to say I took the car without her permission if anything happened to keep her from being liable, correct? She lives on the other side of the state so having the insurance company find out is not possible.

Okay.

You are willingly and openly committing insurance fraud. That is a felony.

You are willingly and openly driving without a valid license. That is a misdemeanor.

You are willingly and openly driving without insurance coverage (because you don't have any). That is a misdemeanor.

When caught, your friend has two options. Say she is in on your little scam (in which she gets the felony count as well as you do) or she says you stole the car.

Welcome to Grand Theft Auto.