Default New Jersey Income Tax Return For Wage Less Than 10,000

I'm a part time resident of NJ, since I moved here in June last year (so that's 7 months)
    My gross income is less than required 10,000 by state of NJ.
    So my question is:
    1.will i get a refund if I file the NJ-1040 form?
    2. and can i file it at all with my conditions?

thank you
    I'm new in NJ, so will need your help with that.

Default Re: NJ Income Tax Return For Wage Less Than 10,000

Quote Quoting nichka
    View Post
    I'm a part time resident of NJ, since I moved here in June last year (so that's 7 months)
    My gross income is less than required 10,000 by state of NJ.
    So my question is:
    1.will i get a refund if I file the NJ-1040 form?
    2. and can i file it at all with my conditions?

thank you
    I'm new in NJ, so will need your help with that.
    You will need to file part year returns for the two states where you lived during 2007 (assuming that you had income in both states). The rules will differ somewhat for part year returns.

Quote Quoting llworking
    View Post
    You will need to file part year returns for the two states where you lived during 2007 (assuming that you had income in both states). The rules will differ somewhat for part year returns.
    thank you for response
    Actually I was asking whether i have to file NJ refund at all, since NJ law requires to file only for those who earned more than $10,000 at currunt year... and mine was only $7000

thank you

Quote Quoting nichka
    View Post
    thank you for response
    Actually I was asking whether i have to file NJ refund at all, since NJ law requires to file only for those who earned more than $10,000 at currunt year... and mine was only $7000

thank you
    As I said, the rules differ for part year returns. You are basing your question on the rules for a full year return. So, go look at the instructions for part year returns.

Quote Quoting llworking
    View Post