Default Automatic Renewal Without Notice

We live in Virginia. We signed a one year lease. Apparently hidden in the 10 pages of our lease agreement it stated that 90 days before our lease was up it would be automatically renewed with a 5% increase in rent unless we contacted the management company. So now we are stuck in another year long lease. Is this legal? Dont they have to notify us? Help.

Default Re: Automatic Renewal Without Notice

I AM NOT A LAWYER OR JUDGE - in other words, this is just my opinion, get a lawyer if you need one.

It's a contested area of the law
    http://www2.ljworld.com/news/2006/ju...can_be_costly/
    http://www.expertlaw.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8320
    http://www.housingnyc.com/html/resou...alvacancy.html

Here's my argument(again, not specific legal advice) as to why this clause should be judged unconscionable, unenforcable, and voidable by any ethical jurist.

The original lease provision provides for silent acceptance of a lease renewal. Even though silent acceptance may be agreed upon in a prior writing as a method of contract acceptance in certain commercial transactions, in residential real estate conveyances of this type, I think it perverts the intent of UCC, state real estate, and other laws. While the landlord may argue that the silent acceptance is agreed upon beforehand, it creates a situation in which a leasehold that did not exist, is created by a fineprint clause, without any further affirmative action required to accept by the tenant. [Some states accept these clauses, some don't - I think silent acceptance lease renewals regarding real estate should be prohibited by federal law under UCC to end all the abuse.]