Default Public Housing Failed To File Satisfaction Of Judgment

Hello,

I am a resident of the city and county of San Francisco in California.

In September 2005 I was evicted from public housing for non payment of rent. ( I withheld rent when I was not supposed to, waiting for my broken window to be fixed).
    The day the eviction happened people broke in to the apt (through the broken window) and stole most all of my belongings. (I had asked staff to let me into the unit to get things but they declined me entry). Around March 06 after fighting for a bit I paid the $500 that I owed them. A satisfaction of judgment was never entered. I called the housing office and asked them to please file this. By September 06 still no satisfaction of judgment. This is not reflected on my credit but when you run a public records search I have an outstanding judgment. Today I can go into the court house and in the case file there is a document that shows money paid but I am unsure if it is the official Satisfaction of judgment, and I know it has not been recorded because the public records still says outstanding. I have been declined for housing twice since then because of owing a previous landlord. My question is A)how do I get them (housing/court clerk ) to file the correct forms, and B)do I have any recourse for the damage caused by failure to file the satisfaction or the loss of property that they were supposed to secure for me? It seems unfair that I lost a lot more than $500 in property due to negligence than what they lost for me withholding rent. In a perfect world this judgment would be removed from public records. Is their any chance of that? What’s the next best thing I can hope for?

Default Re: Public Housing Failed To File Satisfaction Of Judgment

Although I obviously haven't seen the document in your case file, if there's a document in there reflecting that the judgment has been paid in full, that sounds to me like a satisfaction of judgment.