Default Retail Fraud at a Department Store

I stumbled across this site in my frantic search for ANY information that could give me peace of mind and some sense of what to expect. While some posts helped, there are not enough full experiences shared for those of us who come searching for some reassurance, so... here is my experience of which I can say turned out as positively as can be expected under the circumstances.

I am a nineteen year old girl, about to be twenty in two weeks; like many of you, I am not a horrible, criminal person; I am actually a straight A college student who just got caught up with shoplifting.

One month ago, I was caught in a department store with $280 of clothes. Also, I had some things from another store in the mall worth about $25 in my purse (I told the LP I had bought that stuff, a lie that made me extremely nervous later on).

I was arrested, finger-printed and bailed out for $500. My bail was actually posted for $1000, but somehow my boyfriend got it lowered. My court day was scheduled in a little over a month (actually, it was today).

I spent the first week or so in expectant misery of my parents finding out about the arrest in the newspaper. Luckily, the arrest was in a different county (therefore, different issue) of our local newspaper, and they never found out.

I spent the second week in nervous expectancy of the cival demand letter I was going to recieve from the department store. I had visions of opening a letter demanding thousands of dollars. It turned out to be only $100, and I wrote a check for it immediately.

The next week I was relatively calm and let myself go out with my boyfriend and friends, but by the fourth week, the week of court, I started freaking out again. I was reading all these things on websites and had no idea what to expect. Here are some of the things I worried about going wrong that did not: