Default Wrongful Termination Due to Slander/Defamation of Character

Hi, I am a registered nurse in the state of MD. I worked at a hospital where I was terminated due to a complaint letter written by a family member about me. I never was shown the letter but what I was told was in the letter ie. the allegations against me are untrue. The reason I believe the family member wrote the letter was because he was disgruntled about a hospital policy I was following during the discharge of the patient. He left the hospital in an angry rage and stated he was a healthcare executive and basically he would report me. I documented in the patient's medical record what had transpired and that I was following hospital policy. Then 2 weeks later after the letter was received I was terminated due to false allegations. To complicate matters I was only a contracted nurse working via a nursing agency therefore I was notified of everything via the agency and was unable to see the letter. The agency is working with me on resolving the issue but I have a few questions regarding the law. I want to know if I'm entitled to have a copy of that letter that had me terminated and I also want to know if it would be worth it to sue the person that wrote the false allegations about me. Any input would be helpful, thanks in advance!

Default Re: Wrongful Termination Due to Slander/Defamation of Character

A wrongful termination does not mean what most people think it means. It does not mean you were fired for something you didn't do; it means you were fired for a reason prohibited by law. That is not the case here. You may have been unfairly terminated, but you were not wrongfully terminated.

No Federal and no Maryland law entitles you to a copy of the letter.