Default Security Deposit Not Returned After Move-Out

Hello, I live in Massachusetts. I was a resident in an apartment for 3 years, and gave my landlord a security deposit in the amount of $1,100 at the beginning of my tenancy. I never received a receipt, or a statement of the interest earned within the three years I lived there. Nor did I ever deduct any type of interest annually from my rent. About 2 months before I moved out, I went to my landlord's house to bring her a formal move-out letter that contained my new address on it, and that she was to forward my security deposit in the amount of $1,100 plus interest to that address. At that time, she told me that she would have to deduct $500 for a window that broke (I did not break it, and I don't know who did - it was broken from the outside) within 5 months of me moving in.

She has never mentioned this before, I never agreed to that. I told her I'd have to talk to a lawyer, that didn't sound legal, and I took the letter with me and sent it to her via certified mail. At a later date she told me she would no longer pursue it, just to make sure I removed a couple of items in the back of the house. In the end of March, my heat went out, I called her, she fixed it. I have 3 children, ages 7, 3, and 8 months old (at that time). On April 17th, it went out again. I called her and informed her that night, and she called me the next day and said someone would be there to fix it the next day. Someone came and left without fixing it, and she called me and told me there was a dispute because the repair man didn't fix it right the first time, and that someone would be there the following day to fix it.