Default Physical Custodian Moving Out of State - Permission Not Asked nor Granted

My question involves a child custody case from the State of Georgia(ish): I have been a resident of N.C. since 2012. My ex has sued me now 6 times (in the state of GA) for custody and was granted custody based on “election of a 14 year old” in 2019. I have faithfully paid support and upheld the agreement, despite my son refusing visitation and will no longer answer my calls or texts. I received a text from my ex this weekend providing me with his new address in OK. I asked if my son was in OK with him and he stated he was finishing school in GA. MAJOR concerns: A. He literally moved out of state and didn’t take our son B. He gave me 0 notice about the move (our paperwork requires 30 days) C. This can’t be legal?!?! D. Do I file the motion in GA or does this give me cause to file in N.C.?

Default Re: Physical Custodian Moving Out of State - Permission Not Asked nor Granted

Quote Quoting LPOzzy2020
    View Post
    MAJOR concerns: A. He literally moved out of state and didn’t take our son B.
    With whom is the child living?

Quote Quoting LPOzzy2020
    View Post
    He gave me 0 notice about the move (our paperwork requires 30 days)
    I suspect the court's order requires notice of a move with the child, which, as you've described it, is not what happened.

Quote Quoting LPOzzy2020
    View Post
    This can’t be legal
    I'm not sure why you think anything you've described might not be legal.

Quote Quoting LPOzzy2020
    View Post
    Do I file the motion in GA or does this give me cause to file in N.C.?
    Assuming you're talking about a motion for a custody change, the court that issued the existing order maintains jurisdiction.

I strongly suggest you retain the services of a family law attorney.

Default Re: Physical Custodian Moving Out of State - Permission Not Asked nor Granted

Quote Quoting LPOzzy2020
    View Post