Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Company Didn't Pay Me Until Termination, So I Kept Their Property. Legal

Hi everyone. Thank you for your answer in advance.
    I have a situation here. I am an independent contractor (registered as a corporation) in Ontario and worked for a company in Barbados. It was operated as an off-shore tech company.
    The company terminated my contract randomly and did not pay me for 1 week. And they said they wouldn't be paying me any more dues until termination even though i sent them an invoice.
    Since I had their property (monitor etc.), I decided not to give it until they pay me my dues. I had told this to them verbally, so they said to go to court if you want the money from them (all verbal conversation). Now they emailed me asking for the company property back. They owe me around $1500 but I have their property which is worth more.

I have the following questions:
    1. What should I do?
    2. Can they sue me or do a case against me from Barbados? If they had to do a case which jurisdiction will it apply to?
    3. I haven't signed any documentation as to obtaining these company properties from them. It was all verbal and they gave it to me before the covid shutdown and going for work from home mode.
    4. If they create a legal case, then can I just tell the court that because they didn't pay me my dues, I held on to the company property?
    5. Can I just stop replying to them?

Default Re: Company Didn't Pay Me Until Termination, So I Kept Their Property. Legal

Quote Quoting crazy11
    View Post
    Hi everyone. Thank you for your answer in advance.
    I have a situation here. I am an independent contractor (registered as a corporation) in Ontario and worked for a company in Barbados. It was operated as an off-shore tech company.
    The company terminated my contract randomly and did not pay me for 1 week. And they said they wouldn't be paying me any more dues until termination even though i sent them an invoice.