Default Target Assault

I was accused of stealing by an employee at Target. The employee then pushed a cart i to mine and broke two of my fingers. I went to hospital the next day and am filing charges and the police have the incident on tape.
    Should I file a lawsuit? Would I likely win, and if so how much could I get ball park?

Thank you for any insight!

Default Re: Target Assault

Only a lawyer might answer that. However as a Retail theft consultant I can tell you this employee likely violated policy by taking that action. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tc_qBadKTCU&t=444s

First off, you have to indicate the state this took place in.

Second, it's not up to you as to whether the employee prosecutes. It is society that is harmed by criminal activity and it is the state that brings the criminal case on our behalf.

Depending on what state you are in and what the exact circumstances are, you can expect to either pay several hundred dollars or get a few thousand in compensation. You'll likely get your medical bills paid (which if your insurance has paid any of, they'll want you to fork it over to them). Since there were actual broken bones, in some states you have a chance at a small amount of P&S, but if you think you've won the lawsuit lottery, you're sorely mistaken.

As for the accusation of theft, the standards are very low. There's a difference between an employee being mistaken versus malicious that's usually hard to prove.

Your best bet is to take your case to an attorney who can make an intellegent, informed, and dispassionate look at the evidence and see what he thinks is possible.

Quote Quoting flyingron
    View Post

Second, it's not up to you as to whether the employee prosecutes.
    I'm just pointing out that employees don't prosecute anything. Perhaps you meant that the store my file charges for shoplifting. And that may be predicated on if the OP tried to leave the store, the incident happened inside the store, or out in the parking lot.