Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default SSDI Dependent Offset with Ltd

First, thanks to everyone helping to provide information here. This is an invaluable service.

I have been receiving LTD for a couple of years. I was recently approved for SSDI and received a substantial back payment. I also ended up being approved for dependent care benefits and received a back payment for that also. My LTD company now wants me to give them most of my back payment (expected) but they also want the dependent care back payment too (not expected). In addition, I will receive 2 monthly payments (primary and dependent) from social security going forward and LTD will deduct both of those payments from what they pay, leaving them on the hook for very little.

I assume that there is nothing that I can do about them taking the back payments. I’m sure that they have their verbiage straight. My question is if there is anything that I could do to stop them from counting the dependent benefits against me monthly? For example, could I appoint my fiancée as his payee?

Last, I doubt that I would do this but, since I have some medical bills piling up too, could I bankrupt the overpayments?

Thanks in advance for any information or advice that anyone can provide.

Default Re: SSDI Dependent Offset with Ltd

Quote Quoting Sharpshooter
    View Post
    First, thanks to everyone helping to provide information here. This is an invaluable service.