Default Cross State Title Issue

My question involves a consumer law issue in the State of: Kentucky

Yesterday, after 48 hours of negotiation online, I, a resident of the state of Ohio, purchased a vehicle from a resident of the state of Kentucky. I did sign a notarized transfer document and take possession. It was a rushed arrangement because the notary offices were closing in seconds. The seller handed me a folded title and we parted ways. Upon going to the DMV in Ohio this morning, I was informed that the title from Kentucky Is what is called a “junk title” (for a vehicle an insurance agency has deemed “unsaveable”) - which Ohio will not recognize and which means the state of Ohio will not title it to me. I did not know this was a junk Kentucky vehicle when it was purchased because it was did not disclosed - although it is in small print on the title, but being an out-of-state resident I didn’t see it. In talking with the previous owner he refuses to work with me to either rectify the title issue (make it a salvage title, which would require some work on his end), or return my investment. I cannot work on the title in KY because I’m not a resident. I can’t GET a title from either state. Do I have any options? Can I sue and win based on fraud/non-disclosure?

Default Re: Cross State Title Issue

Quote Quoting DonInCincinnati
    View Post
    Do I have any options? Can I sue and win based on fraud/non-disclosure?
    Did he at any time represent to you that the title was a "clear title"? A clear title is one that is not a branded title (e.g. one in which the title is branded by the state as a salvage, junk, or lemon, etc vehicle). The types of branded titles vary a bit from state to state. Did you ever ask the seller about whether it was a clear or branded title? If you did, did you get whatever representations were made in writing?