Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default What Are My Right Can I Sue the Emploter

Hi, I am a software engineer and I have been working with a company for almost 17 years and they decided to lay me off all of sudden. I haven't been given any clear reason why I am getting laid off. So here are my questions...

1. Can I go back and ask HR to provide me the reason why I was selected? I was a major player in the project, but some people didn't like me. I strongly believe that they played politics to kick me out. So can I ask HR to review all the selection criteria once again?
    2. Before the layoff was announced, the management made me and a few others work for 100 hours a week (which is 250% more than usual 40 hours) for about 5 months in order to complete a project with a very aggressive timeline. What can I do to get compensated for those extra hours? Should I reach out to HR or work with an attorney to pursue my case with my employer?

thanks

Default Re: What Are My Right Can I Sue the Emploter

Quote Quoting member007
    View Post
    Hi, I am a software engineer and I have been working with a company for almost 17 years and they decided to lay me off all of sudden. I haven't been given any clear reason why I am getting laid off. So here are my questions...

1. Can I go back and ask HR to provide me the reason why I was selected? I was a major player in the project, but some people didn't like me. I strongly believe that they played politics to kick me out. So can I ask HR to review all the selection criteria once again?
    2. Before the layoff was announced, the management made me and a few others work for 100 hours a week (which is 250% more than usual 40 hours) for about 5 months in order to complete a project with a very aggressive timeline. What can I do to get compensated for those extra hours? Should I reach out to HR or work with an attorney to pursue my case with my employer?

thanks
    1. You can ask anything you like. They do not have to answer you.