Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Unemployment /Pua

My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: New Jersey and New York
    Hello,

Thank you in advance for the answer.

I am a recent graduate. I worked part time for cash but never filed taxes in my life. I am having a hard time finding a job during this pandemic. How do I apply only for the PUA? I assume I would not be eligible for unemployment as I never paid taxes. So how do I go about this? If i file for unemployment, the system asks for last day work and or last employer. It doesn't give options to choose none. I don't want to submit the application with false information but it seems like I can't push this application without making up dates.

Thanks

Default Re: Unemployment /Pua

First off, you have to figure out where you are currently residing. It can't be both NY and NJ. You have to show residency in one or the other.
    You have to apply via that states unemployment system. Both have procedures set up to route those who wouldn't otherwise qualify.
    The problem you have is that you have to show that you were previously employed, either as an employee or an independent contractor (and not paying taxes does not bode well for you) and that your job was either ended or one that was scheduled to start was wiped out by the pandemic issues.

As for specific advice, you need to indicate where it is you are residing now.

In my experience, if you lived in CA you would qualify for stimulus money but not PUA. You would need tax records showing you were an independent contractor/self employed.

Quote Quoting Harold99
    View Post
    In my experience, if you lived in CA you would qualify for stimulus money but not PUA. You would need tax records showing you were an independent contractor/self employed.
    But he doesn't live in CA.

Quote Quoting mbmj600
    View Post

I am a recent graduate. I worked part time for cash but never filed taxes in my life.