Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Interview Discrimination

My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: California

About a month ago, I had a civil but slightly tense conversation with an friendly-acquaintance Manager X at my local upscale national grocery store over what I considered over-exaggerated risk-prevention measures over Covid19. I shop there almost daily. I'm in my 50's, my degree is in molecular biology & I believe the virus is less threatening than what is portrayed in the news but remain empathetic to those who are scared. Manager X had the opposite opinion to mine and did get a bit irritated that I didn't agree with the narrative he believed especially when he mentioned his brother shared my opinion. He explained all store decisions came from HQ, which I understood. There was no anger from my side whatsoever & the conversation ended amicably although his feathers remained a bit ruffled.

Last week I went in to the same grocery store for an interview for a seasonal, temp position to help ends meet during this lockdown. I was shown to public tables a few feet from the end of the check-out lines. When the hiring manager saw me, she exclaimed "Oh it's you. We're not interviewing you! You're the one who had an argument with manager X! No, no we're not even going to consider interviewing you" all within earshot of people checking out. Feeling stunned, I explained that it wasn't an argument but a conversation of diff opinions. "No, sorry" she said . "You're the one who wears the straw hat right?" Yes, I replied. "Yeah, nope, we're not doing this interview" and she walked away leaving me standing there totally shocked & utterly humiliated. As I walked out of the store behind her, she walked over to Manager X, whispered something to him and walked away. I then had a chance to speak with him. He agreed we did not argue but didn't offer to clear things up. He kept mentioning the position may not be available since it's temporary.