Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Letter from New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development -Employer Accts

Hey all

I’m a self employed photographer living in the state of New Jersey. Recently, I was sent a letter from an auditor at the department of labor and workplace development, which reads:

“An examination of the books of (company), Inc disclosed payments were made to you for services performed as a subcontractor in years 2017 and 2018. This examination includes making independent contractor/employee determinations under R.S.43:21 - 19(i)(6)(A)(B)(C) of the New Jersey Unemployment Compensation Law.

Please forward copies of the following for the years indicated above:

Federal income tax returns - Form 1040 Schedule C Front and Back
    Or
    Form 1065 or Form 1120, 1120S

In addition, provide copies of the following if applicable:
    Business Cards, Business Invoices, Letterhead
    Telephone book/newspaper/internet advertisement
    Business Insurance

This information is necessary to correctly determine your relationship with the above named employer. “

They then go on to send me a questionnaire to return with the requested documents entitled Worker Classification Questionnaire:

To me, it seems like they’ve audited the company i performed services and are looking for worker misclassification, but my accountant thinks they’re trying to figure out if I have people working for me (which I don’t). Any help on the matter would be appreciated.

Default Re: Letter from New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development -Employer Ac

Quote Quoting Thebashartesla
    View Post

To me, it seems like they’ve audited the company i performed services and are looking for worker misclassification, but my accountant thinks they’re trying to figure out if I have people working for me (which I don’t).
    Could be either or both.

View Post

Any help on the matter would be appreciated.