Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Regarding the 12 Month Restrictions on a Provisional License

My question involves a driver's license issued by the State of: California

I am a minor (17 years old) and was pulled over for driving too slow on the freeway with my friends in the car who are also minors. I have been driving for about 14 months since October of 2018. The officer wrote me a ticket for driving with minors in the car.

My ticket says: 12814.6 (b)(1)(b)
    Violation of Provisional License Restriction

After looking at the DMV website about my provisional restrictions, the website states that my restrictions are for the first 12 months since the issue of the license. The officer used the issuance date of my current license as grounds for my ticket. The issuance date of my current license is July of 2019 since I applied for my Real ID and got a new license. However, my first license has the issuance date of October of 2018. So i'm guessing that the officer used the July 2019 issuance date on my current license and assumed that I have only been driving for 5 months.

So my question is that will I still be liable for my license violation even though I have been driving for over 12 months and the DMV website stating that my restrictions last only for the first 12 months of getting my license?

Default Re: Regarding the 12 Month Restrictions on a Provisional License

When you called the DMV and asked them (assuming you did) what did they say? Is your new license also Provisional?

I haven't called the DMV, I just looked at the regulations on their website.

The law says 12 months from the date of issuance. The date of issuance on your license was when your new license was issued. However, I suspect the REAL ID-based reissuances are a popular problem. I'd be intereted in what the DMV says.

I'd certainly appear on this and challenge it. It's certainly not the intent to restart the clock over clerical changes.