Default Can I Sue a Large Corporate Restaurant

My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: Georgia
    I just recently turned 18. I work in a restaurant which is one of hundreds. When I was 16/17 and still in school they use to work me over 5 hours without breaks. The manager has said sexual things about my girlfriend to me. When working a job they often make you do something else and you do not get paid for it. Even when I'm clocked out and let's say leaving I'll be asked to do things. I quit my day school for this job and it's a very uncomfortable environment. Do I have a case against them? I thought about threatening them with going to the news and exposing them.

Default Re: Can I Sue a Large Corporate Restaurant

Unfortunately, Georgia does not have a state government agency for the enforcement of wage and hour laws. If you were shorted pay you can file a complaint with the US Dept of Labor. Local offices are in Atlanta and Savannah. Look them up.

As for the sexual innuendo, depends on what was said, how often it was said, and what the circumstances were. But if you didn't file a written complaint with the owner or President of the company, it'll fall on deaf ears now.

Otherwise, I don't see grounds for a lawsuit here. As you go through life you are going to occasionally have crap jobs working for aholes (everybody does). Get used to it and get over it.

Quote Quoting John3232
    View Post
    My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: Georgia