Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Driving in Michigan with No License

    Does anybody know what punishment for driving in Michigan with no license is? My boyfriend got a DUI three years ago and has not gotten his license back since. Yet he still continues to drive around, and I believe he doesn't have insurance either. Can somebody help me with this

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    28,906

    Default Re: Driving in Michigan with No License

    The DWLS statute provides,
    Quote Quoting MCL 257.904 Operating vehicle if license, registration certificate, or designation suspended, revoked, or denied; penalty; extending period of suspension or revocation; informing court of record and status; applicability.
    (1) A person whose operator's or chauffeur's license or registration certificate has been suspended or revoked and who has been notified as provided in section 212 of that suspension or revocation, whose application for license has been denied, or who has never applied for a license, shall not operate a motor vehicle upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of motor vehicles, within this state.

    (2) A person shall not knowingly permit a motor vehicle owned by the person to be operated upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, within this state by a person whose license or registration certificate is suspended or revoked, whose application for license has been denied, or who has never applied for a license, except as permitted under this act.

    (3) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person who violates subsection (1) or (2) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable as follows:
    (a) For a first violation, by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both. Unless the vehicle was stolen or used with the permission of a person who did not knowingly permit an unlicensed driver to operate the vehicle, the registration plates of the vehicle shall be canceled by the secretary of state upon notification by a peace officer.

    (b) For a violation that occurs after a prior conviction, by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both. Unless the vehicle was stolen, the registration plates of the vehicle shall be canceled by the secretary of state upon notification by a peace officer.
    (4) A person who operates a motor vehicle in violation of subsection (1) and who, by operation of that motor vehicle, causes the death of another person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 15 years or a fine of not less than $2,500.00 or more than $10,000.00, or both. This subsection does not apply to a person whose operator's or chauffeur's license was suspended because that person failed to answer a citation or comply with an order or judgment pursuant to section 321a.

    (5) A person who operates a motor vehicle in violation of subsection (1) and who, by operation of that motor vehicle, causes the serious impairment of a body function of another person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00, or both. This subsection does not apply to a person whose operator's or chauffeur's license was suspended because that person failed to answer a citation or comply with an order or judgment pursuant to section 321a. As used in this subsection and subsection (7), "serious impairment of a body function" includes, but is not limited to, 1 or more of the following:
    (a) Loss of a limb or loss of use of a limb.

    (b) Loss of a foot, hand, finger, or thumb or loss of use of a foot, hand, finger, or thumb.

    (c) Loss of an eye or ear or loss of use of an eye or ear.

    (d) Loss or substantial impairment of a bodily function.

    (e) Serious visible disfigurement.

    (f) A comatose state that lasts for more than 3 days.

    (g) Measurable brain or mental impairment.

    (h) A skull fracture or other serious bone fracture.

    (i) Subdural hemorrhage or subdural hematoma.
    (6) In addition to being subject to any other penalty provided for in this act, if a person is convicted under subsection (4) or (5), the court may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n. If the vehicle is not ordered forfeited under section 625n, the court shall order vehicle immobilization under section 904d in the judgment of sentence.

    (7) A person shall not knowingly permit a motor vehicle owned by the person to be operated upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, within this state, by a person whose license or registration certificate is suspended or revoked, whose application for license has been denied, or who has never been licensed except as permitted by this act. If a person permitted to operate a motor vehicle in violation of this subsection causes the serious impairment of a body function of another person by operation of that motor vehicle, the person knowingly permitting the operation of that motor vehicle is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00, or both. If a person permitted to operate a motor vehicle in violation of this subsection causes the death of another person by operation of that motor vehicle, the person knowingly permitting the operation of that motor vehicle is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years, or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00, or both.

    (8) If the prosecuting attorney intends to seek an enhanced sentence under this section based upon the defendant having 1 or more prior convictions, the prosecuting attorney shall include on the complaint and information, or an amended complaint and information, filed in district court, circuit court, municipal court, or family division of circuit court, a statement listing the defendant's prior convictions.

    (9) A prior conviction under this section shall be established at or before sentencing by 1 or more of the following:
    (a) An abstract of conviction.

    (b) A copy of the defendant's driving record.

    (c) An admission by the defendant.
    (10) Upon receiving a record of a person's conviction or civil infraction determination for the unlawful operation of a motor vehicle or a moving violation reportable under section 732 while the person's operator's or chauffeur's license is suspended or revoked, the secretary of state immediately shall impose an additional like period of suspension or revocation. This subsection applies only if the violation occurs during a suspension of definite length or if the violation occurs before the person is approved for a license following a revocation.

    (11) Upon receiving a record of a person's conviction or civil infraction determination for the unlawful operation of a motor vehicle or a moving violation reportable under section 732 while the person's operator's or chauffeur's license is indefinitely suspended or whose application for a license has been denied, the secretary of state immediately shall impose a 30-day period of suspension or denial.

    (12) Upon receiving a record of the conviction, bond forfeiture, or a civil infraction determination of a person for unlawful operation of a motor vehicle requiring a vehicle group designation while the designation is suspended or revoked pursuant to section 319b, or while the person is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle by the United States secretary of transportation or under 49 USC 31301 to 31317, the secretary of state immediately shall impose an additional like period of suspension or revocation. This subsection applies only if the violation occurs during a suspension of definite length or if the violation occurs before the person is approved for a license following a revocation.

    (13) If the secretary of state receives records of more than 1 conviction or civil infraction determination resulting from the same incident, all of the convictions or civil infraction determinations shall be treated as a single violation for purposes of imposing an additional period of suspension or revocation under subsection (10), (11), or (12).

    (14) Before a person is arraigned before a district court magistrate or judge on a charge of violating this section, the arresting officer shall obtain the person's driving record from the secretary of state and shall furnish the record to the court. The driving record of the person may be obtained from the secretary of state's computer information network.

    (15) This section does not apply to a person who operates a vehicle solely for the purpose of protecting human life or property if the life or property is endangered and summoning prompt aid is essential.

    (16) A person whose vehicle group designation is suspended or revoked and who has been notified as provided in section 212 of that suspension or revocation, or whose application for a vehicle group designation has been denied as provided in this act, or who has never applied for a vehicle group designation and who operates a commercial motor vehicle within this state, except as permitted under this act, while any of those conditions exist is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable, except as otherwise provided in this section, by imprisonment for not less than 3 days or more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $100.00, or both.

    (17) If a person has a second or subsequent suspension or revocation under this section within 7 years as indicated on the person's Michigan driving record, the court shall proceed as provided in section 904d.

    (18) Any period of suspension or revocation required under subsection (10), (11), or (12) does not apply to a person who has only 1 currently effective suspension or denial on his or her Michigan driving record under section 321a and was convicted of or received a civil infraction determination for a violation that occurred during that suspension or denial. This subsection may only be applied once during the person's lifetime.

    (19) For purposes of this section, a person who never applied for a license includes a person who applied for a license, was denied, and never applied again.

    1. Sponsored Links
       

Similar Threads

  1. Driving Without a License in Michigan
    By Wesley P. in forum Driver's Licenses
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 06:46 PM
  2. Suspension and Revocation: Loss of License Due to Driving on a Suspended License, How to Get It Back
    By lookingforanswers1984 in forum Driver's Licenses
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2010, 04:57 AM
  3. Suspension and Revocation: Driving with Suspended License in New Jersey, Valid License in Pennsylvania
    By padriver02 in forum Driver's Licenses
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 02:23 PM
  4. Suspension and Revocation: Michigan License and Pennsylvania Driving Under The Influence
    By chipper1220 in forum Driver's Licenses
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-29-2008, 06:31 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2007, 02:38 PM
 
 
Sponsored Links

Legal Help, Information and Resources