Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Phone Deactivated by Mother

My question involves a consumer law issue in the State of: INdiana

Default Re: Phone Deactivated by Mother

And you question is?

You can either edit your original post or reply to the thread.

Buy your own phone. If you are to young, listen to your mother so she doesn't have to disconnect your phone once she turns it back on for you.
    I'm not a lawyer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.......

Sorry. My computer froze. 3 years ago my mother got a phone contract for me under her name with Verizon. I had no credit. The contract was up in September. I contacted Verizon and was set up to start a new plan under my name in September as I have credit now.

I have never missed a payment. In August, my mother got a burr up her ass (she is a drug addict and sometimes gets crazy) and called Verizon and told them the phone was stolen and the account was a fraud. She had the account shut off. I can not use the phone on another plan as they have been reported as fraud.

I had to go out and spend money to get 2 new phones and a new contract. This was $250.

Now my step-father contacted me and said my mother wants me to pay the August and September bill, the fee for breaking the contract, and the fee to reconnect. It would be about $900. She said if I don't she will get an attorney and take me to Court.

I don't believe that this is fair. I was never late and this helped her credit score. I was going to switch it to my name after the contract was over in September. I was going to use the current phones. But now I can't because they were reported stolen.

If she does take me to Court (which I really don't believe she will, I think she if bluffing) what do you think will happen? Will I have to pay her the fee for breaking the contract and a fee to unlock the phones for me to take to another contract?

BTW, I am 27.

I sure hope you aren't still living in your mother's home.