Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Can a City Be Stopped from Issuing 'Permit Parking Only' Ordinance

My city is considering adopting a Permit Parking Only ordinance that will severely affect the ability of my customers to park near my business. How can I stop the ordinance from being approved?

Default Re: Can a City Be Stopped from Issuing 'Permit Parking Only' Ordinance

Lobby city council.

Quote Quoting MaggieV P
    View Post
    My city is considering adopting a Permit Parking Only ordinance that will severely affect the ability of my customers to park near my business. How can I stop the ordinance from being approved?
    You do as PayrolGuy has stated but make sure you bring other business owners that will be affected with you as well.
    I'm not a lawyer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.......

By going to city council meetings. By urging your city council members not to adopt the ordinance. By urging others in your city to lobby the city council members.

Did you really not know these things?

Quote Quoting MaggieV P
    View Post
    Do you want to say what city and what state? Is the ordinance already introduced? Has it passed its first reading? Was there a public hearing held yet? Is it posted online for us to read? What is the recitation of the need for the ordinance? Is it public safety, health, and welfare? Or does it somehow benefit a select group of people or businesses? Might it be considered arbitrary or capricious?

Aside from what the others have advised you, there are also legal ways to fight an ordinance depending on some of the questions I asked.

Quote Quoting MaggieV P
    View Post
    As the others indicated, you need to lobby the city government not to enact the ordinance. To the extent you are asking if you have any legal action you can bring against the city to prevent enactment of the ordinance, the answer to that is no.

Quote Quoting Taxing Matters
    View Post