Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default How to Report an Online Security Breach

My question involves business law in the state of: Texas or Oregon

NOTES: i am not and have not accessed the company's databases, hacked into their systems or otherwise illegally accessed this information.

So i am able to see other users personal data on a website. Given my education and copious experience as a software engineer, I know the reason i can see this data. The reason is because the company's developers suck. They left the data right out there in the open for anyone to see it. How do i go about informing the company and getting paid for saving them millions of dollars?

https://www.vox.com/2016/2/9/1158769...event-a-breach

Default Re: Security Breach

Quote Quoting kjohnson1
    View Post
    How do i go about informing the company
    "Hey, boss, there's a glitch in the software."

Quote Quoting kjohnson1
    View Post
    getting paid
    Ha Ha Ha Ha. That's funny, right there.

i know right? everyone can get paid but me. that actually used to be my job. but my fellow americans decided they wanted indians to feed their families instead. so my college degree (paid for with an academic scholarship) and 15 years experience is for not. however those indians really suck at doing my job..and i find the proof everywhere.

Well, you could call them up, make it very clear it isn't a threat to attack their system and offer to provide your consulting services.

Quote Quoting kjohnson1
    View Post
    i know right? everyone can get paid but me. that actually used to be my job. but my fellow americans decided they wanted indians to feed their families instead. so my college degree (paid for with an academic scholarship) and 15 years experience is for not. however those indians really suck at doing my job..and i find the proof everywhere.
    You’re getting paid to work there, right? If you report the issue while on company time, you’ll be getting paid to report the issue.