Default Can a Doctor be Required to Practice Specialty Medicine at a Local Community Hospital

My question involves malpractice in the state of: ARIZONA

I am a surgeon and am double board certified. If I do not wish to practice one of my two specialties, am I allowed to still work at the same hospital while telling the hospital administration that I choose not to practice that specialty? In other words, does the hospital have any legal power to obligate me to practice that specialty because I am trained to do so?

If a patient comes in needing services that I am capable and certified to provide, but choose not to because I voluntarily forfeited my privileges to do those specific procedures, am I medicolegally within the law to refer that patient to another facility that provides that particular service? Can I be held liable if I choose not to provide those services that I no longer wish to perform? What if it is an emergency situation?

Thanks in advance for any help this forum can provide.

-RR

Default Re: Am I Obligated to Practice My Specialty at My Local Community Hospital

Quote Quoting paradiddler
    View Post
    My question involves malpractice in the state of: ARIZONA

I am a surgeon and am double board certified. If I do not wish to practice one of my two specialties, am I allowed to still work at the same hospital while telling the hospital administration that I choose not to practice that specialty? In other words, does the hospital have any legal power to obligate me to practice that specialty because I am trained to do so?