Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Challenging a DUI Blood Test

My question involves criminal law for the state of: Washington

What are the chances of getting a blood test suppressed if:

I have a copy of the blood draw video which clearly shows that the phlebotomist did not invert the blood samples as required. In fact, he shook them, which every phlebotomy instruction I've checked specifically says not to do.

The toxicology lab manual says evidence will be considered up to 120 days. I have a copy of their report, which shows they held my blood samples for 126 days before starting the test.

The test results ultimately showed 0.11

Default Re: Challenging a Blood Test

Have you run this by your attorney? Challenging the procedures and policies of labs and phlebotomists is not a do-it-yourself sort of project. And while I have no specific knowledge of the inverted tube or the 120 day rule, understand that unless those are hard and fast rules enshrined into law in some way, if this is a policy or practice issue, these instances may not be relevant. This is why it is important to run this past an attorney with DUI experience.
    Retired Cal Cop Sergeant & Teacher

Seek justice,
    Love mercy,
    Walk humbly with your God

-- Courageous, by Casting Crowns ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkM-gDcmJeM

You're wrong about inverting the tube. It's only required for certain of the tubes to mix the additive in the tube with the blood (most notably for the purple tops to make sure tha antilyse agent keeps the cells from breaking up before the counts can be done. It is not required to do anything to mix the Red top that was almost certainly used for the BAC draw. Most of the "chemistry" stuff like BAC doesn't care about the additive. The additive in the red top is only there to make the blood clot to make the blood typing tests more effective.

If they really left blood in a red top for four months before running the test, you may have something.