Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    1

    Default Truancy Laws in Michigan

    My question involves criminal law for the state of: michigan my daughter faces a truency charge shes 16 what can i expect

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    38,719

    Default Re: Truency in Michigan

    I dont know what the child faces but the parents face a misdemeanor for the childís truancy.



    380.1599. Offenses and penalties
    A parent or other person in parental relation who fails to comply with this part is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not less than $5.00 nor more than $50.00, or imprisonment for not less than 2 nor more than 90 days
    Iíve found nothing that prescribes a penalty for the child.


    and not long ago a mother was actually sentenced to a couple months for failing to send her 12 year old child to school

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Behind a Desk
    Posts
    98,846

    Default Re: Truancy Laws in Michigan

    If you are stating that your daughter is going to juvenile court over her truancy, read this article.

    1. Sponsored Links
       

Similar Threads

  1. Truancy in Michigan
    By doitrit07 in forum Juvenile Law
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 10:59 AM
  2. Foreclosure: Michigan Foreclosure Laws
    By pbh01 in forum Buying, Selling and Conveying Real Estate
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-05-2009, 10:49 AM
  3. Drug Possession: Michigan Marijuana Laws
    By michiganmom66 in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2009, 10:47 AM
  4. Adoption of Children: Adoption Laws in Michigan
    By cyates in forum Adoption Law and Surrogacy
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 09:45 AM
  5. Traffic Accidents: Michigan No fault laws
    By Jimplenz in forum Accidents and Injuries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-07-2006, 11:13 AM
 
 
Sponsored Links

Legal Help, Information and Resources