Default Former Supervisor Possibly Giving Poor Reference

My question involves labor and employment law for the state of: CA

I am a "new" graduate (finished last Spring) looking for a full time job. I have no other work experience aside from an unpaid internship that was part of graduating requirements. My supervisor at this internship is my sole professional reference. I thought I did well when working under him because he gave me a good "performance appraisal" at the end (a good review was required to graduate).

Since June of 2018, I have had *many* interviews which almost always go well but then I hear nothing back after the reference checking stage. I am suspicious that my former supervisor is responsible and giving me a lack luster review to potential employers. I have no other explanation - one employer wanted me to start on a Monday (interview on Thursday), even gave me an offer letter at the end of the interview, and then rescinded it when I went in to work on Monday morning, claiming that there had suddenly been a "hiring freeze", overnight ! The position, however, was almost immediately filled (per the alumni network).

I can't think of any other reason why I would not get a job, given how promising the interviews go.

If I was older or had more work or volunteer experience I would be able to find other references but as this internship was my only "work experience" almost all employers ask to speak to this man and it looks suspicious it I don't want to share his info. Is there any thing I could do to stop this man from likely giving me a poor reference and costing me very promising jobs ?

Thank you for your advice (legal or professional) in this regard. I appreciate the help.

Default Re: Former Supervisor Possibly Giving Poor Reference

Stop using that unpaid internship as a reference. Yes, I realize that gives you no other professional references in your field, but using that person as a reference seems to be doing you more harm than good.