Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Hybrid View

Unhappy Man is Trying to Claim He is the Father of My 7 Year Old Son

My question involves paternity law for the State of: Oregon and Washington

I have sole custody of my 7 year old son and I have been raising him since he was 10 months old. I was married to his mother when he was conceived and when he was born. She is now out of our life and has not seen our son for 5 years. In September one of her ex-boyfriends has filed in Washington Superior Court to Disprove Presumed Paternity and be declared my son's father. My son and I live in Oregon and have lived here for my son's entire 7 1/2 year life. I have filed a motion to dismiss the Washington case and I'm pretty sure the "gentleman" will file in Oregon. In the affidavit he establishes that he first learned of the birth in 2011 and has believed he might be the father since 2014.

Does he have any standing at this point to seek any rights or DNA test of my son?

Default Re: Man is Trying to Claim He is the Father of My 7 Year Old Son

You are named as the father on the child's birth certificate?

Was the child born in Oregon?

47.606 N 122.332 W in body, still at 90 S in my mind.

Where was the custody order? What state? When? If it's been 7 1/2 years it may a bit of a heavy lift here in WA and it may be in OR as well, for the ex, even if he's the biological father.

Both OR and WA have adopted the Uniform Parenting Act which grants parentage to individuals who are not the legal parents, or adjudicated parents, as long as they are, in short, acting as parents, have bonded in that role and are doing so with no remuneration...largely. This is over simplifying complex issues, however, especially since neither state has an SOL on paternity challenges.

That said, as above, 7 1/2 years is pretty out there and if you're the legal father, as I presume you are as you have sole custody (through a court order, right?).

Why would the ex file in WA if you've never lived there?