Default Can You Sign Away Your HIPAA Rights

My question involves public health law in the State of: Pennsylvania
    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to read this post. First, a bit of background...
    I was an accepted medical student planning on attending school starting this fall. That was until I was referred by my school to my state's Physicians Health Program (PHP) due to my self-reporting (to the school) of an arrest that I had in the last year which involved alcohol. This arrest was for violation charges, that were dismissed following my compliance with a pretrial release program.
    The way that PHP works is they handle any medical student or doctor with legal problems involving alcohol and ensure you comply with their regulations or treatment plan in order for you to be in good standing for licensing. After my initial contact and explanation of my situation to the PHP they recommended me to have a multiple-day, inpatient substance abuse evaluation done to determine what treatment I needed. The PHP only allows you to be evaluated by their pre-selected short list of 'trusted' evaluation and treatment facilities. You cannot see any provider that is not PHP-approved (there are not many).
    The problem is this: You pay a couple thousand to get an evaluation done for PHP at one of these treatment facilities, and then you MUST comply with the evaluation recommendation or else you are non-compliant with the terms of PHP treatment/monitoring. So these facilities have a direct financial gain by evaluating an individual and recommending in/outpatient treatment or monitoring which they *coincidentally* just happen to provide!