Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Angry Bank Freeze for Child Support Arrears

My question involves a child custody case from the State of: NY

I have been making my child support payments for the past 4 years via my job as the child support garnished my check so the payments have been made every pay period for like I said 4 years of my employment. Well the other day I see my bank accounts health accounts were all frozen due my arrears (of which I cannot stress enough) have been removed from my account for 5 years. So with this being said if my payments are being met bi weekly why did they freeze my account(s).
    Now that my accounts are frozen I cannot get to work, eat, etc.

My wife has a separate account so do I now have to live off her salary which is far less than mine? What are my options on this?

Default Re: Bank Freeze for Child Support Arrears

Are you saying that you do NOT have any arrears?

Have you confirmed with the bank that the freeze is due to an order issued in the child support case, not some other issue?

Assuming that payment is through a Child Support Office, what did you learn when you called the office and asked why they took action against your bank accounts when you were making the court-ordered payments toward arrears through wage garnishment?

No not at all I am in arrears and making the payments on time every month for years? Why this freezing of accounts now?

I called the child support help information and they did say it was because of the arrears I owed. I just want to know why after so many years of making payments and now they decide to freeze my accounts.

So you arranged to pay the arrears in payments as an addition to your normal CS payment? How much is left in arrears?

You need to call the child support agency and find out what it going on.