Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    3

    Default What Will Happen After Your Spouse is Charged With DV 1

    My question involves criminal law for the state of: WA

    My husband has recently started using hard drugs and was on a binder, hadn't slept in 6 days. I confronted him and he attacked me. Cops were called by a family member, he was charged with DV1 and harassment. I don't want him to have a felony and be taken away from our family. he just needs help and to get clean. he has no record and this is his first offense. what can I expect? Im so sad and scared. thank you for your help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Somewhere near Canada
    Posts
    35,894

    Default Re: My Husband Was Charged with a Dv 1, Cops Were Called Not by Me. What Should I Exp

    He should be speaking with his attorney. Have you sought help from victim services?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    20,594

    Default Re: My Husband Was Charged with a Dv 1, Cops Were Called Not by Me. What Should I Exp

    Most first offenders are offered some manner of diversion to include anger management counseling. It is also possible that if he admits to an underlying drug problem that his attorney can get him enrolled into drug diversion as well.

    As mentioned, he should be speaking to his attorney. AND! If there is a protective order in place prohibiting contact with you, he should not be communicating with you at all - directly or indirectly - unless he wants to get into more trouble.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Behind a Desk
    Posts
    98,846

    Default Re: What Will Happen After Your Spouse is Charged With DV 1

    Assault 1 occurs when a person assaults another person with a firearm or other deadly weapon with intent to commit great bodily harm, or assaults another person and does inflict great bodily harm. It's a very serious crime, punishable by up to life in prison, a fine of up to $50,000, or both.

    If in fact that's the charge that was filed against your spouse, prison time is a very real possibility even for a first offense, and he needs to work with a criminal defense lawyer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    20,594

    Default Re: What Will Happen After Your Spouse is Charged With DV 1

    Ouch! I hadn't thought to look up the specific offense!

    yeah, that's a much more serious offense than what I had initially thought.

    1. Sponsored Links
       

Similar Threads

  1. Divorce: What Will Happen if You Get Your Spouse Fired During a Divorce
    By lawfacts in forum Divorce, Annulment and Separation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2017, 03:54 AM
  2. Minor in Possession: What Will Happen if I Was Charged with Possession of Marijuana at School
    By asdfghjkl1234567890 in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-09-2012, 06:28 PM
  3. Theft and Larceny: Charged With First Offense Larceny - What Will Happen in Court
    By romarah in forum Criminal Charges
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-30-2012, 08:22 AM
  4. Arrest Warrants: If a Spouse Has an Arrest Warrant, Can the Other Spouse be Charged for Doing Nothing
    By designit in forum Criminal Procedure
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-09-2011, 12:28 PM
  5. Drunk and Impaired Driving: Minor Charged With DUI - What's Going to Happen
    By jayv in forum Drunk and Impaired Driving Charges
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-28-2009, 01:55 AM
 
 
Sponsored Links

Legal Help, Information and Resources