My question involves criminal law for the state of: North Dakota
I just moved to North Dakota a little over 2 weeks ago, and not a resident fo this state yet. My cousin wants to go for fishing, and I tagged along with him. We brought only 1 fishing rod because I don't have a license and Im not planing to do the fishing. After got to the river side, my cousin was walking around to check for a spot, while he was doing that, I was helping him with the fishing rod by changing the baits, and I did threw the fishing line down a few times to test if it stable. I did this for about 5 mintues, then I put the fishing rod down and went back into the car. While I was in the car, a game and fish officer knock on the window and asked if I have a license. I said no, and explained that I was just helping my cousin getting this fish rod ready. The officer said I was fishing and given me a ticket of non-resident fishing without a license for ($450). I tried to submit a form asking for an attorney, but the clerk of the district said this doesn't have jail time so I have to submit when I go to court.
My cousin also got a ticket for illegal taking fish. While he was walking on top of the rocks to the other side of the river, he saw 2 dead fish got stuck on some rocks, and he pick them up with his hands. He didnt have a net at that time, so he brought it back to the truck. Then the officer walked over and given him a ticket ($350). All this happen only 5 mintues after we got to the lake.
So what should I do that the court? Will this be on my criminal record if it rule I and my cousin guilty? How can we ask to reduce the fines? On the tickets it says class B misdemeanor for both of us. This is my first ever getting a ticket of any kind.