Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Custodial Parent is Threatening to Leave the Children With the Non-Custodial Parent

My question involves a child custody case from the State of: Pennsylvania

Hello,

I'm looking for some advice on my situation, I am the non-custodial parent and the father (who is the custodial parent) is threatening to drop them off to me at any time. He currently Lives in North Carolina and has mentioned just sending them on a bus or have them driven up. They are 3 girls ranging from 17-12 and is supposedly having issues raising them and does not want primary custody anymore. We do not have a civil relationship at all for many reasons, we just cannot seem to communicate. I get the children for 7 weeks in the summer and one week during Christmas. He supposedly is going to send the kids up after school and not take them back when the summer is over. I am a full-time student and only work part time. I am not able to care for these kids if he randomly drops them or refuses to take them back. Not sure what I can do or what my options are. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
    Jen

Default Re: Custodial Parent Making Threats

Unless your plan is to put the kids up for adoption you call a lawyer and start getting ready to take custody and get child support.

Giving the kids up for adoption isn't an option, no. But, me securing a lawyer with money I really don't have to take custody and get child support is the only other option? And then, he gets to keep his visitation rights and everything is essentially fine? I find it hard to believe that is the only legal option. Maybe I'm wrong, but where is the accountability in that scenario?

You can decide for yourself whether or not to petition for custody, so as to formalize the modification. If the facts are as you describe, it shouldn't be a big deal to represent yourself. Forms and instructions.