Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Is a Conviction for a Violation a Criminal Conviction in New York State

My question involves criminal records for the state of: NY

Have you ever been convicted of a crime excluding minor traffic violations?

I was convicted of a violation (disorderly conduct)

Default Re: How Would I Answer This

Disorderly conduct is not a traffic violation (minor or otherwise).

Your answer is:

"Yes, I was convicted of a violation (disorderly conduct)."

Default Re: How Would I Answer This

It is better to tell then be denied because you excluded it on the application.
    I'm not a lawyer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.......

Default Re: Is a Conviction for a Violation a Criminal Conviction in New York State

Violations are classified as petty offenses in New York, and a conviction for a violation is not a criminal conviction. See the definitions of "crime" and "violation in Sec. 10 of the penal code.

Default Re: Is a Conviction for a Violation a Criminal Conviction in New York State

Quote Quoting Mr. Knowitall
    View Post
    Violations are classified as petty offenses in New York, and a conviction for a violation is not a criminal conviction. See the definitions of "crime" and "violation in Sec. 10 of the penal code.
    A violation is not a crime but a Penal Law violation is a criminal violation and will certainly appear on a criminal history.

Under the Penal Code, as linked above, "'Crime' means a misdemeanor or a felony". A violation is not a misdemeanor or felony, and is thus not a crime.

Quote Quoting Mr. Knowitall
    View Post
    A violation is not a misdemeanor or felony, and is thus not a crime.
    Which is what I said. However, a Penal LAW violation will end up on a criminal history.