Default Accused of Stealing an Item I Took Into a Store

My question involves criminal law for the province of B.C.

in November I went into save on foods with a face scrub I had as I wanted to get some other matching items to put Christmas gift baskets together this year. After realizing how much (expensive) they were and I only had cash on me I decided not to get them yet and shop around. I put my face scrub back into my purse and finished my shopping only a few items. Left the shop and next thing I know some guy chasing me down yelling at me to return to the shop cause he thinks I’ve stolen beauty products.

Well me knowing it’s mine and no way to prove it I knew how it looked. For years I also worked as a under cover officer and have Hurd it all myself of how insistent every is when caught so I knew no matter what I would say I was going to be accused. I also suffer from PDSD. From the military and past abuse from men and don’t like to be confronted my men especially strangers I keep to myself. I have anger issues and was scared of he got to close I would react and hurt him and get into even more trouble for assault which I would be guilty of.

Knowing the item of mine he clearly thought was from the shop I just threw it at him hoping he stay away and not confront me my husband saw him chasing me in the parking lot and drive up to get me. A month later I got a letter in the post saying I have to pay$300 for the cost of time and items I did t take but also going in and out of the courts as a child from sexual abuse from my Father I have a fobia of court and crowds so instead of disputing it I called and paid it to go away to avoid more stress and anxiety attack. I know it looks worse from here end but when I’ve been through so much I just wanted it to go away. Even celebrities pay off flaw charges for them to go away and avoid the press and courts I didn’t think it was any different.