Default What Will Happen if a 17-Year-Old Moves Out

My question involves civil rights in the State of: Ohio
    I am 17 years of age. I have a job getting 20+ hours a week on minimum wage. My boyfriend's family has offered to let me move in with them, due to my parents deciding that they hate me. They turned my phone off, took my car off of insurance, and have disowned me. However, I am still living with them. I graduated May 21 of the year and was wondering if I was able to just up and move out. I know regardless of hating me, they like control over me and won't let me leave willingly. So my question is..am I considered emancipated?

Default Re: Emancipation

Ohio does not have an emancipation statute.

Stick it out for a few months - then you can leave whenever you want to go anywhere you want.

No. You are not.

You can walk out the door and never look back the very MINUTE you turn 18. Until then, you live where your parents say you live.

Quote Quoting cbg
    View Post
    No. You are not.

You can walk out the door and never look back the very MINUTE you turn 18. Until then, you live where your parents say you live.
    And what if they leave anyway before they turn 18?

Quote Quoting Justified Force
    View Post
    Mom and dad can report her as a runaway and they can go get her and bring her home. It might also be possible that her boyfriend and his family could get in trouble for harboring a runaway. It is also possible that the parents may simply let her leave with the clothes on her back and be done with it. Let her find out the hard way that life can be a bear.

And, does anyone REALLY think that the parents have suddenly decided that they "hate" their daughter?
    Retired Cal Cop Sergeant & Teacher

Seek justice,
    Love mercy,
    Walk humbly with your God

-- Courageous, by Casting Crowns ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkM-gDcmJeM

View Post